ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2016 Schedule

The most awaited event of ICC World T20 2016 is scheduled to launch on December 11, 2015 in Mumbai at 1200 (IST) at St. Regis Hotel. ICC Chairman Mr. Shashank Manohar, BCCI Secretary Mr. Anurag Thakur and ICC Chief Executive Mr. Dravid Richardson will attend the event.

It is going to be a panel discussion regarding the unveiling of schedule, groups and other details, including batsmen Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane. It is officially declared that India will host the upcoming T20 World Cup which is scheduled to start from March 11, 2016 to April 3, 2016 after the first meeting of ICC Board at ICC Headquarters.

ICC T20 World Cup 2016 Schedule

The ICC took some of the major decisions as they reinstated the Super Over in case the match goes tie in ICC World Cup 2015 Final. Now, it imitates the recent ICC events at the ICC World Cup 2011 final. The winner shall be declared on the final (if weather permits on the day) and Super Over will play an important role to separate both sides.

The ICC Cricket board has also approved the modifications to the ICC Code of Conduct applications regarding the slow over rates in the matches. This way, the captains don’t have any minor over-rate suspensions and offense ‘strikes’ from the other series in the event. Due to this approval, all the captains will make an entry to the no overrates strikes against them. They will just go to be suspended from ICC World Cup 2015 if overrate offenses are committed. The ICC Cricket board has repeated the support for umpires to clamp down on the bad behavior of the player, especially leading during the world cup. The Board has considered several issues around the safety of the player after the tragic death of batsman of Australia Phillip Hughes during the match and it was briefed on the research project supporting the ICC to improve the safety of helmets used in cricket match. Recently, it led to introduce the new British Safety Standard.

It was remarked that the manufacturers of the helmets have introduced several models of helmets with comply with up-to-date British Standard and large number of players have decided to wear helmets whose models truly comply with the latest safety standards.

There is an another update in T20 World Cup which is that Chennai may not host Sri Lanka and India matches in the epic M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai which hosted Chennai Super Kings for IPL and around 50 T20 matches. This historic stadium may miss out the opportunity to host T20 World Cup. The schedule to host World Cup in India is from 11th of March to 3rd of April. It has also been declared that Eden Gardens, Kolkata will host T20 World Cup 2016 Final. Due to some reasons, it is not officially announced why such an important match will not be hosted in Chennai. Chennai will also lose the opportunity to host any of the matches of Sri Lanka because political conflicts.

According to Anurag Thakur, BCCI Secretary, there are problems with the stadium because of which the venue is pending to allow any match to host. He also stated that Chennai has certain limitations with the venue and they cannot host the matches of Sri Lanka. Currently, Delhi is also a major venue to host such matches but it is messy due to tax related conflicts with the state government. So, there are fewer chances that Delhi can host T20 World Cup. In order to finalize the venues, the BCCI has posted the deadline. So, the venues shortlisted for hosting these matches are Pune, Ahmadabad, Bangalore, Chennai, Mohali, Hyderabad, Rajkot, and Dharamshala.

There are six teams qualified to join the top 10 test-playing teams and the announcement of ICC T20 Cricket world cup 2016 schedule is still pending. Once they release the fixtures, you will get the date and start time. On Friday December 11, ICC is going to launch ICC T20 World Cup Trophy which will be attended by ICC Chief Executive, Chairman and BCCI Secretary. The event will reveal Schedule and Groups and other details for world cup. The team batsmen Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan and Ajinkya Rahane will also be involved in discussion. The buzz for the world cup has already been started in the air and the qualifiers for ICC World Twenty20 have also come near the discussion. The venues and dates for ICC T20 have been released by the BCCI and ICC.

The qualifiers for the Twenty20 World Cup 2016 is at its conclusion and we have got the names six associate qualifying teams which will join the 10 teams of full test playing countries in the major draw. The qualifiers have played from July 6 to July 26 2015 in Ireland and Scotland. The six qualifying teams are Afghanistan, Ireland, Scotland, Hong Kong, Oman and The Netherlands.

When it comes to the format of T20 World Cup, the championship shall be played in two different stages. In the first stage, 6 qualifying teams will play against the bottom 2 teams which have full memberships, i.e. Zimbabwe and Bangladesh, in qualifying round. Then, the 8 teams are going to split into two groups of 4 teams each. Each group will play against each other. The two toppers from both groups will go ahead and join the top 8 teams in Super 10 stage.

The Super 10 Round will have two group toppers from the last qualifying round and top 8 T20 ranked teams. These teams will be split into two groups which consist of 4 teams in each. They will play against one another. Each team will play four matches and top 2 will qualify for semi finals.

The BCCI or the Board of Control for Cricket in India announced the venues of matches to host the World Cup. There are 8 mega cities shortlisted from various parts of the country to represent the history and heritage of the country and cricket. Eden Gardens, Kolkata is shortlisted to host finals.

Manoj Mehra, a blogger and co-founder of Blazed Story, He always tries to share top 10 lists for India and worldwide to increase The knowledge of internet users.
Read previous post:
Maruti Vitara Brezza
Top 10 Best Cars In India

Cars are becoming a necessity in India. Everyone wants to own the best car to up their social status. However,...